Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Collection
Identifier: MS 00111
Scope and Contents
The inventory includes letters, 1851-1861, and accounts, 1840-1866, of Rufus King Fitzhugh and his wife Henrietta Ellen (Baytop) Fitzhugh of Stanardsville, Greene County, Virginia. Most letters to Henrietta are from her mother Lucy Taliaferro (Catlett) Baytop, and her sisters Rowena, Lucy Ann, and Eugenia, all of Springfield, Gloucester County, Virginia. The collection also includes letters from her sister-in-law Mary F. Fitzhugh of Fredericksburg, Virginia. The letters relate...
Dates:
1840-1866
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren counties, Va.; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also includes...
Dates:
1788-1959
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C96
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1832-1856, of George Washington Parke Custis of "Arlington." The collection is mostly letters written to Francis Nelson, his farm manager at "White House," New Kent County, Virginia concerning growing and marketing crops, agricultural improvements, the effect of the proposed Richmond and York River Railroad on the plantation, and Robert E. Lee. There are a few additional letters to Nelson from merchants and railroad officials, and photostats of 2 additional Custis letters.
Dates:
1832-1856
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 St7
Scope and Contents
Newspaper clippings of letters, 1790-1811, in the Staunton Spectator May-June 1879, written to Judge Archibald Stuart, Staunton, Va. chiefly by Thomas Jefferson at "Monticello" concerning plantation and agricultural matters. The clippings include copies of letters from James Monroe, John Marshall, Henry Lee (1756-1818) and a photostat of a letter, 25 August 1816, from Stuart to William Wirt giving reminiscences of Patrick Henry.
Dates:
1790-1816
